Need Advise

Hello everyone,

I am new to this amazing site. I would like to ask a question and get some feedback. I am sorry if these questions have been asked already.

I am 29 years old. I just received my BS in management of information systems. I have a 2.5 gpa and I want to go to medical school to become a radiologist. I know I need to work on my gpa. I really do not want to re-take any of my previous classes because most of them were very difficult computer programing classes. Should I go back to school and get another associates degree in a science to raise my gpa? I am currently volunteering at two hospitals to bulid 100 hours of volunteer work. One of the hospitals has one of the top medical schools in the US.

What should I do?

I am single with no children…if that helps your answer for me.

Thank you so much

Happyn2009

Have you taken any of our prereq’s yet? If not, and you do well in them in addition to some easier courses, will boost up your gpa. Develop a gpa range for yourself. Determine would be the idea gpa you will strive for and what would be on the lower end. Check out medical schools that average gpa falls into those ranges and consider applying to them. You don’t have to get another degree just to take your pre-req’s. Just take the necessary coursework needed to apply.

Hi, First of all, I want to congratulate you for making the decision to go to med school. I, myself is also in your shoes except I’m much older than you. I also have a Bachelors degree in Business Management and none of the classes I took while doing my undergrad were classes required for med school. I only took one science class which is not even required to get into med school.

So, I basically have to start all over either by getting into a post baccalaureate program or do a second degree in biology, which both would probably take the same amount to do.