Need pre-req's before pre-req's?

Hi - I’m considering a pretty big career change; I’ve got Bachelors and Masters degrees in Accounting and currently work for a hedge fund. I placed out of most of my undergrad science requirements and did really well in the (non-science) classes I did take, but I haven’t actually taken sciences since practically high school. I’d like to start a post-bacc program within the next 2 years, do you think I need to start taking community college classes even before that to get back up the curve? Also, I’ve heard you need to do a significant amount of volunteering to get into a good post-bacc program; is some weekend time enough? I’m working 60+ hours a week as it is and don’t know how much more time I can spare for additional volunteering. Thanks much.

welcome to OPM. My background is somewhat similar to yours - had an undergrad in accounting, decided “to hell with 150 credit hrs for CPA :)” and worked in consulting for a few years before returning to school.

I think you should have no problem jumping into your post-bacc program. I had no science courses going through my undergrad, and I’m doing well on my prereqs now. A good approach would be to perhaps to go through some of those do-it-yourself guides to chemistry, physics, etc, before jumping into classes.

One additional note, a formal post-bacc program is not needed. Most of us have enrolled or re-enrolled at a normal 4 year university and just take the chem, physics, o.chem, biology required classes with undergrads. I don’t think either approach is superior, but post-bacc might be more geared towards working professionals seeking a career change from what I heard.

Good luck!

I think only you can tell if you need additional prep. Why don’t you go to the local University and ask them if they have any placement exams for incoming freshmen.