Need some advice...

I’ve been working in the medical field for about 10 years now. I’ve literally worked my way up from a janitor at a nursing home, to a tech in the emergency department, to a staff nurse in the ICU. It has always been my goal to be a physician, but I’ve had some personal struggles in my life, and I got of to a bit of a rough start in my college career. I was never able to finish high school (i.e. expelled) and thus I wasn’t exactly prepared for college life at first. It took me a few years to control my personal issues (a lot of it had to do with AD/HD). Right now I’ve never been happier in my life and I really want to prepare for med school.

I’ve spent the past 3-4 years working full-time and going to school full-time. I recently graduated with my bachelor’s in nursing this past December with a 3.92 GPA. I’ve taken and have at least a 3.5 GPA in the following courses: A&P I/II, microbiology, pathophysiology, statistics, psychology, and other social/natural science classes as well as English.

Unfortunately, I haven’t always been a good student. I previously went to a university where I took biology I/II and chemistry I and obtained Cs. I’m not sure of my exact GPA at this school (it is probably around a 2.0 and I have maybe 30-40 credits there). I know I need to retake these science classes as well as physics and organic chemistry. I would like to know if it is okay to take the basics (i.e. biology I/II and chemistry I/II) at a community college and then take organic chemistry at a university. I will be working full-time nights as a nurse, so my hours are a little difficult to work with. The community college has more options for class times than the university.

My question is this: should I take all the classes at the university even though it will take me a lot longer due to class availability and be more expensive, or is it safe to take the basic courses at community college and then transfer up?