Need some advice....

Hi,

I’m a junior majoring in biochemistry. My GPA after my sophomore year is a 2.908. My freshman year was really good but I screwed up my sophomore year due to personal issues. I am doing much better my first semester of junior year. and I plan to stay and graduate a little longer. what are my chances of getting into medical school? And I’m studying my butt off for the MCAT (not taking it until my GPA is good). so…I need advice: how can i raise my GPA? and do med schools look at how many times you repeat a class and how many repeats you’ve done?

thanks

Welcome!

Med schools will see how many times you’ve taken a class. Also, although repeating a class and doing well will fix your GPA at your institution, in the AMCAS appplication (application for MD med schools), ALL your grades are averaged…there is no grade replacement. So, your calculated GPA may be quite a bit different from your institutional GPA.

Having said that, in your personal statement, you can address what caused a drop in grades during sophomore year. If you demonstrate a consistent academic performance henceforth, you can overcome some of the negative impact of those grades.

In the AACOMAS application (for DO medical schools), they use grade replacement in calculating GPA. So the previous low grade is replaced by the MOST RECENT (not highest) grade - I think I’m right with this… So do well

Kate

You can raise your GPA by doing well in your remaining classes. I think this will show the med schools you will apply to that your sophomore year was a fluke.

Try to get as many As as possible while you finish your degree requirements, especially in your science classes. The key is to show a strong upward trend.

If your GPA isn’t up to par once you finish your degree requirements, hold off on graduating to boost your GPA. To do this take more upper division science courses as a 5th year senior.