Never Forget

Today, is a solemn day in the history of the United States and man-kind alike.
Two years ago today, the evil of mankind showed its face, a face that has been seen in the past. Serbia, Vietnam POW camps, North Korea, Nazi Germany, and Iraq.
We must remember today, not because we were attacked, but because we saw how we cared for each other.
I am an EMT in NJ and work in NYC. I was waiting in the Emergency Room at the hospital I work in for people to start pouring in…no one showed up. I was dispatched to ground zero to stand by with my ambulance crew to take survivors to the hospital. Out of the tens of ambulances that were there waiting, not a single one left with a patient. They left only to change shifts.
I do not think it is possible for anyone to forget where they were when the heard the news. I will always remember my wife begging me, pleading with me through her tears not to go to the scene to do what I felt I needed to do. She knew that she was asking the impossible. I told her I had a job to do.
Out of respect for her, and our new born daughter, I stayed behind. A decision that will haunt me for the rest of my life. I belonged in the field, I belonged with the other EMTs and firefighters, I should have been part of the rescue effort. I stayed behind and watched television until I was able to get into an ambulance, where I belonged.
I cannot watch any coverage, I cannot bear it. I know that I could have been there, maybe even should have been there. I know that I lost 343 fellow emergency brothers and sisters.
I found out later that my best friend, also an EMT, was on scene with doctors and nurses who set up 10 field operating rooms. Not a single operating table was used. I found out that another friend, also an EMT, was in WTC 7 when it happened, he made it. His brother, a FDNY firefighter, did not.