New and need some advice.

Well hello first of all.

My name is Eric and I’m a 23 years old freshman just starting out this semester. I was previously in the Marine Corps for the last 4 years, so starting over has been very intimadating. I was undecided for a long time but for the last year or so I decided medicine is the way to go.

I would like to know if any of you know any good websites that would help me increase my skills in math, biology or chemistry? I had my school schedule set up to take all required classes for med school. But Im scared to death because throughout highschool, those were my worst subjects. If anyone has any websites or just even simple support that would be great.

Greetings Eric,

I cannot offer you the websites you seek, though I know there are members here who can provide that info for you, there is a thread in the general forums somewhere that provides numerous links to these sites. But instead of searching for hours, I would wait for someone to chime in who has them for readily available.

How wanted to chime in to your question and give you my suggestion. Go to your local library and/or book store and get the BIOLOGY made simple books, they have them for all subjects and I found them most useful in the past…Best of luck to you!!

Hi Eric

There are a couple of alternatives aside from online stuff. But since you want online info, try MIT opencoursware initiative. These are free classes online with videos, homework etc, that are given to MIT students. Very neat, excellent quality and will prepare you in BIO, PHYS, MATH and more (take a look, just amazing)

see here.

You can also locate anyone close to where you live see if you can hangout together and help each other out.

Finally you can audit some classes. The downside is that you have to pay and won’t get credit, but it will prepare you. Then you retake it for credit and get an A. Costly, but safer.