New here. Am I delusional?

Hi everyone! I am so glad to have found this site. I apologize for starting yet another “am I out of my mind” thread, but here goes…

I am currently finishing up my PhD in social welfare at an elite private school. I will be 36 years old when I graduate. When I first embarked upon my college journey a million years ago, I was a pre-med biology major. I completed 1 year od bio and 1 semester each of gen chem and physics. I got all A’s, and I maintained a 4.0 average throughout my freshman and sophomore year.

Then tragedy struck. Here’s the short version of what happened: Due to family problems, I ended up becoming homeless. Nonetheless, I busted my ass and managed to get back into school by the following semester. Needless to say, my grades suffered a lot. As a result, I decided to abandon my dream of becoming a physician and I changed my major.

I graduated with a 3.0. Terrible, I know. I should have taken time off from school to get my act together, but at the time I felt that to withdraw from school would be tantamount to admitting defeat. So I have a number of W’s and 2 F’s on my transcripts.

I ended up getting a master’s degree in social work because my motivation to practice medicine had always been altruism, plain and simple. I worked as a social worker in child welfare for a couple of years, and then I worked as a research assistant in the psychiatry dept of a very renowned med school for 2 years. At that point, I decided to pursue a PhD because I missed being in an academic environment.