new member...LOTS of questions

Hello everyone, stumbled upon this website and have found your posts very informative and encouraging so i decided to sign up and see if you guys can help me with my dilemma…

A little background on myself: Im 34, migrated to the US 7 years ago. I graduated with a bachelors in clinical lab science from another country in '99, worked in an entirely different field for 4 years before coming to the US in 2003. Since i hadnt worked in the laboratory setting since graduation, i decided to do a one-year clinical in NJ to refresh my knowledge and be able to get certified as a Medical Technologist/Clinical Lab Scientist. I have been working as a Medical Technologist in one of the country’s most prestigious hospitals for 6 years now.

Recently i have realized that I want to pursue a career in medicine. Although working in a lab is a good career in itself, i feel i can do so much more as a doctor. So here is where all the questions come in.

Since I have a bachelors from a foreign country and i got that degree more than a decade ago, does this mean that I have to do a post-bac program here and retake all the basic science courses i already took? I am not averse to taking a post-bac partly because i did really poorly in college (young + partied all the time = GPA probably below 2.5). However, since coming to the US I have gotten my act together, got As in all of my classes (all clinical lab subjects such as microbiology, parasitology, hematology, etc.) during my 1-year clinical in NJ.

If i do get a accepted into a post-bac program, I will be probably 36 before i can even apply to med school. If i do really well with the post-bac and if i get a good score on the MCAT, will my undergraduate GPA still pull me down or can admissions committees forgive me for being young and stupid in college?