New member...My plan... thoughts please...

Hi

Thanks in advance for reading my post. I am currently 25 years old and am in a professional field(undergrad + professional school). However, I have realized that I want to act on my dream of becoming a doctor - I know I need to do extensive shadowing…

I have no science or math background and have a low undergrad gpa.

I have contacted local state medical schools and they mentioned that someone in my shoes needs 20 hrs of credit hours and they will consider that my new gpa. I work full time and they do not mind that I take 1 or 2 classes at time.

I realize that the pre reqs are 1 yr bio, chem, ochem, physics. If I were to try to complete all these courses taking them 1 or 2 at a time it will take me 3 years, then I would need to write the mcat and get accepted to medical school. I am looking at potential 5 years until I even start medical school.

I am getting scared because although I beleive this is possible, I am considering scarificing 5 yrs of my life without a guarentee.

My questions to you are, Do I need to take all the pre-req’s?, I have done some looking to post bacc programs where I can possible get finished the prereq’s in a year but I do not think there is any I can get accepted to other than the carib. The carib is still an option, because I would be looking at 5 years including post bacc until I finish medical school. Do you think I should look at other post bacc programs? Do you have any suggestions? I would be very thankful. Thanks so much

Yes, you need to take all of the pre-reqs, ESPECIALLY since you have a low undergrad GPA and no science/math background. Not only that, you really should take some upper level science courses beyond the pre-reqs. If at all possible, I would strongly taking at least a semester of full-time science course load. This would help prove to adcoms that you have the ability to handle medical school.