New to OldPreMeds.Org - Hello Everyone

Hello Everyone! I am in the Washington DC area/Northern Virginia. I am thinking about completing the pre-requisites to attend medical school. My great grandfather and grandfather were both eye doctors. I used to perform medical research through my high school’s mentally gifted program at The University of Pennsylvania and Albert Einstein Medical Center in Philly. I did my undergrad at a school that also had a respected Physical Therapy program. I am a little bit afraid of chemistry and organic chemistry especially. I did well in chemistry when I was a high school student, but that was a long time ago. I also have a young child. I have been finding people to watch him on Care.com, but I know that might be a problem. I could possibly leave my son with my husband. I am just trying to figure out if I should bother with this dream. My husband is not supportive of me going back to school for anything, but I think he is insecure. He has said in the past that he worries about me getting a higher paying job (like I used to have) because he thinks I will leave him. I need to do what is best for me at this point in my life. I cannot build my life around another person. I want to be independent and I want to see if beginning a career in medicine is possible for someone who is 40. I have a Master’s in Special Education and I used to be an IT Recruiter. Prior to that, I was a mortgage loan officer.

Welcome, HelloJeffrey! Feel free to start your own thread if you’d like feedback on your personal situation, or have any questions. We’re a friendly bunch. :slight_smile:

I second Lorien’s post.

Hello, I also just joined this community forum and wanted to introduce myself here as well instead of creating another discussion topic.