New to OldPreMeds

Greetings to everyone!

I am a 37 (soon to be 38) year old emergency room RN who is also an acute care NP and currently in a postmasters program in advanced family nursing. When I did my initial nursing degree it was as a stepping stone to medical school instead of doing the traditional biology, biochemistry or chemistry route. I figured that nursing would be a better major in its own rite. Little did I know that nursing and premed are relatively incompatible.

Long story short, I ended up going the NP route with the intent to go to medical school later but then I started having children and also fell in love with the nursing healthcare philosophy. Also, while doing my clinical rotations I realized that I didn’t love medicine enough to make the necessary family sacrifices to pursue it.

It has now been ten years since finishing my first masters and although this go-round is more rigorous, I find myself being drawn to medicine again–more so for the depth and detail of the training. I find myself hungering for more and more in-depth knowledge outside the scope of advanced nursing. I am enjoying the growth of my healthcare IQ from my current training but I’m still feeling the itch for more. Then I stumbled upon this group and you guys have ramped up that itch!!!

For now, I plan to finish my postmasters and work to pay off some debts as well as to allow my youngest (who is 6) to grow up some more before I take the plunge into medicine if that’s what I end up doing. I’m attracted to osteopathy more than allopathic medicine but my priority is my family and I am limiting myself to schools around my locale. There is one D.O. program and about 3 MD programs within 2 hours of my home. Proximity to family and support systems trumps most other factors for me.