New to OPM

I am new to the OPM forum, and so far I have found this to be a fantastic resource. Kudos to everyone who has contributed to this community of support.
I currently work as the director of web communications for a prominent health organization in Bethesda, Maryland. I will turn 30 in July, and I just started my premed coursework in an evening program offered at the University of Maryland. I plan to finish general chemistry and core biology by summer of 2005, then take physics and o-chem 2005/2006, and take genetics and micro while studying for the MCAT the following April.
I have contacted a few phsyicians about shadowing, and I am planning on applying to GWU to become a volunteer as well.
My undergraduate record is an odd mix. I did well my first year, then I tanked in the second and third years, eventually dropping out. I began working at a publishing company full time and worked my way up the ladder where I then began taking evening classes to finish my BA. I received A’s in all of the later classes, finishing finally with a 2.9.
Because of family, I will need to stay in the DC metro area. My main worry is that I will not be competitive for the schools here even if I do well in all of my post bacc work and the MCAT. From earlier posts I have read on here, it seems Hopkins is unforgiving of past academic failures, and University of Maryland is highly competitive for out of state applicants (which I would be given that I live in DC). GWU and Georgetown seem to be my only hope, but I am worried about getting in there too.
Any advice?

Welcome to OldPreMeds! Search for some of Mary Renard’s posts. She’s a DC area resident as well and did end up staying in town. It sounds as if you have your plan well thought-out and I wish you every success. My only advice at this point is to enjoy the journey as much as you can. You can’t hold your breath until the destination.

Welcome!!