New to this website and looking to talk to others

Hello everyone, I am new to this site and am thinking of becoming a doctor. I will be 38 years old in about a week from now and have been discouraged by a few people, as they say I am too old to enter this profession. What does everyone here think of that? I really have no background at all that I can bring into a medical career( I was a flight instructor and sometimes charter pilot), but I’d like to learn more about what is involved and what will be expected of me. Will someone speak to me about this?
Thanks,
Robin

Hello Robin and welcome to the site. I would like to suggest that you just start reading and utilizing the search feature for any questions you might have. Pretty much anything you can think to ask has been answered already. Again, welcome to OPM!!

Hi, and welcome! I’m 41 and just took the MCAT last week. I’ll be applying this year for admission in fall of 2006. You’re not too old.

Welcome, Robin. There are even a few other pilots on OPM if I’m not mistaken. I’m learning “pilot” as my son is in the Navy doing his primary pilot training… both he and I are having rather intense years but each of us is having fun, too.
Mary

Robin,
I encourage you to check things out and make the decision that you believe to be right, now what others think is right. There are many people on this site with a wealth of knowledge and experience who are very willing to share. Best of luck to you!
Larry

Welcome to the fold! As has been said, you will find a wealth of information on this site to help guide your journey. Your first steps will most likely be signing up for a class and doing some shadowing to be sure you know what you are getting yourself into (and help motivate you during the classwork!).
www.aamc.org has a list of post-bacc programs that you might find useful in terms of finding a good place to start classes. You can search on here for various discussions on the pros and cons of an informal vs. formal program.