Newbie asking for advice-proceed with medical dream or no?

Hello all nontraditionals!

I would like to get some feedback from you all about my situation. I was diagnosed with epilepsy when I was a sophomore in college 15+ years ago, but because I didn’t always have grand mals I foolishly tried to finish my degree while having seizures. I eventually withdrew from school 3 times, leaving each time because it was just too difficult trying to complete school while seizing (auras, confusion, and the ocassional grand mal). Needless to say, my grades are horrible. I ended up withdrawing from a lot of classes, and was dismissed for not meeting the college’s general requirements.

Fast forward to today, I am seizure free after having epilepsy surgery. I am performing appropriately in school (currently I’m at a community college).

Needless to say, my interest in becoming a doctor stemmed from my years of hospitalizations. I’m still divided on the issue, and I am willing to drop the idea as a pipe dream and just become a nurse. I wanted to get some input from you guys (because friends and family believe my interest is untenable. I do too, to a certain degree). Now that I am actually able to study without incident I need a strategy or possibly a stern talking-to.

I am thinking that my application won’t even be considered by ad cons once they see the w’s and other bad grades.

I plan on contesting my grades and asking for grade forgiveness from my old institution (hoping they will grant it). I don’t know if they do this yet, but I believe my case is strong (that is, I went on disability at 20 because stress brought on the seizures. I’ve never held a full time job). Now that I’m seizure free, I’m really excited about having a career and being a productive member of society.

Do you think I would even be able to get past the initial gatekeepers?