Newbie Has Basic Questions re: Post-baccs

Here is my situation:
I have applied to several law schools for the fall 2004 admissions cycle and am now considering post-bacc programs for premedical coursework. I’ve always wanted to practice medicine, and law school was kind of a default for me.
I graduated last May with a Political Science degree -3.4- and have no science courses on my transcript. However, I have significant medical research experience and an intense interest in becoming a physician.
Here are my questions:
1- Is it possible for me to be admitted to a post-bacc program?
2- I have not taken the MCAT, will I still be qualified to apply to a post-bacc?
3- Are post-baccs competititive?
4- Will my undergrad GPA and minimal training in the sciences bar me from allopathic medical schools (assuming I do well in post-bacc and MCAT)?
5- If I already took out federal loans for undergrad, can I get federal loans for a post-bacc?
Thanks to all who respond. This board rocks!

Caveat: I didn’t do a formal post-bacc, nor did I look into them, so I can’t answer with specifics. But here’s my thoughts.
1. possible to be admitted? It’s my impression that each post-bacc program has somewhat different criteria for the students they consider. Go to www.aamc.org to find a link to post-bacc programs, which then gives you links to programs. You’ll be able to find out a lot about their different requirements, I think.
2. no MCAT yet? At least some post-bacc programs assume you won’t have taken the MCAT. Your search to answer #1 should help you determine which programs would suit you.
3. are post-baccs competitive? You do have to apply and not everyone gets in, but with a 3.4 undergrad GPA I think you’ve got a good chance of getting into many of these programs