Newbie..I don't know where to start... HELP!

I don’t know where to start! I know it’s kinda far down the road but I’m trying to gain some clarity into how and what’s the best way to go about this. So here’s my story, the short version. I graduated college back in ’00, majoring in health/ wellness. My GPA well lets just say its not worth mentioning. My priorities were wrong during my undergrad. I have worked in Public Health and in the hospital setting now for 5 years. Due to family obligations etc, well the timing wasn’t right for me to start this journey any sooner.

With the major that I had I only have taken 2 of the required classes for med school. I got a C, which I know is cutting it kinda close. So to get the ball rolling I want to enroll in some evening classes offered at a local university. With their set up and as long as they offer one of the classes each term I believe I can have all the Med school requirements done by Fall 2011. I’m unsure about timing everything out.

I have thought about applying to a school with a linkage program to cut out glide year. And I have thought about applying to a SMP, but I’m still facing glide year. If I do it on my own I can still keep my job until I’m I get accepted. But in reality I know I don’t stand a chance of getting in to a linkage with my stats and I’m probably better off doing it on my own.

Here are my questions:

1.When should/would I take the MCAT?

2.At what point can I apply to med school? ( I’m trying to cut down on glide year as much as possible)

3.Am I crazy for thinking this plan of mine will work? :-p

I am open to any suggestions you all have. If I have posted this in the wrong spot, I’m sorry I’ve never done a posting like this before.

First of all, welcome to OPM! I hope you find this site to be as helpful as I have.

Second of all, let me offer you a piece of advice, stolen from Gonnif (one of the sage regulars around here): “Take a breath!”