Newbie that needs serious advice

Hi guys,

I am a thirtysomething career changer. I worked in marketing for years, and then to counter the despair I felt for selling people things they don’t need, I took an EMT class. I loved it, and I aced it. And I knew the hospital was where it was at. So I immediately started looking for tech jobs and taking prereqs for nursing, since I admired the nurses, their pay was decent, and if I felt like doing more I could become a nurse practitioner.

Lucky for me, I landed an awesome tech job that has given me insane amounts of clinical experience. Once a week, I also volunteered at another hospital. And I plugged away at my nursing prereqs, getting all As at my local community college.

Then tragedy struck: I fell in love with surgery.

So, here I am, wondering if I am completely crazy to be contemplating this path with my credentials:

The cons:

2.96 cGPA, with no science GPA to speak of, unless you count astronomy and a very silly physics course

A mediocre semester my second year, when I had mono

A truly terrible final semester, in which I got all As and one F. (Yes, really. Major family problems.)

Another failing grade at the school I went to finish up at, although the rest were As. (Chose to move in with said family, rather than away. Not helpful.)

The pros:

Every grade I’ve gotten as an adult has been an A, including Bio 1, A&P1 and A&P2.

I volunteer once a week at a local hospital.

My clinical job will get me ridiculous letters of recommendation when I leave.

I was valedictorian of my EMT class.

I’m applying to a postbac right now, but I am riddled with doubts. I have no doubt that I can ace the classes as an adult, if hard work can do it. I have determination that I never had before, and I am loving medicine. I also test really well, and I think if I have the knowledge from the postbac, I’ll be able to do well on the MCAT.