Newbie Today

Hi, I’ve been an RN for about 14 years now and want to finish my BS degree. (I have a AA degree in Nursing now). I have the burning desire now to go to Medical school. I currently practice as a Hospice RN. I have volunteered for Boy Scouts for about 8 years, I have gone to a camp for Hospice Kids as a volunteer for the past 2 years, I have practiced in infusion therapy and trauma nursing. My only worry is my age, 39.
I can become a Doctor if I can get into med school. My plan is a 3 year
residency in family medicine then off to practice in a rural area. I don’t much care about where. I don’t care where I go to school either.
I have a burning desire to do this and spend 25 years practicing.
My wife is 101% behind me.
I’m looking for thoughts, I plan to spend the next two years
finishing my BS and going full time. I’m a little scared but
people around me say that I should go for it.
Bill.

Yes it is certainly doable and we do have some prior nurses in medical school and finishing pre-reqs. You will have to get the pre-reqs out of the way as you finish your B.S. (but you already know this) and get good grades in those and take the MCAT. Good luck.

Thank You,
I have a 2-3 year plan to complete my BS and pre reqs for
applying to Med school. Before I thought I was too old to start this, but looking around the web and finding sites like this one has changed my mind. I do have a FIRE in me to become a Doctor. I did have on response on a news group who questioned my wanting to change my profession? I don’t see it as such a drastrict change from being a hospice nurse.
Not like I’m an auto mechanic or plumber, now that would be a change.
Bill.