Newbie here so please don’t flame me, just trying to figure this out and get some advice.

43 year old male with (8) years as former Marine with a EMT and cop background. I still need Organic Chem and Physics, then I will have completed all of the typical required science requirements. Already have undergrad degree. I HAVE NOT TAKEN MCAT YET.

Current cGPA is 3.25, sGPA is 3.6. My last 70 hours of my undergrad GPA was a 3.7. But because I got some really bad grades like 25 years ago, that is what is bringing my cGPA down. I have re-taken some of those classes and gotten A’s on them.

My question is this: because my cGPA is a 3.25 and my sGPA is a 3.6, not counting my other classes I need, are my chances of getting into an Allopathic program shot? Or should I be trying to get into a DO program?

Any advice or comments would be greatly appreciated and respected.

Scott

This doesn’t tend to be a very flame-y place, unlike certain other forums I can think about: “I have a 4.0 and a 40 MCAT … do you think I have a chance?!”

Aaaaanyway, welcome. Someone posted this site the other day and I found it interesting: http://mdapplicants.com. Plug in your stats, see what others with similar ones experienced.

But that is just a piece. Marine/cop/EMT - that’s huge leadership, problem solving and serving in a pressure situations experience right there. You’re showing an upward trend with grades. If you can answer why medicine, why now in a compelling way, if you can show a passion for medicine and the people you’ll be helping, doors should open for you.

DO is becoming a lot more competitive with apps rising faster at those schools than MD, in many cases. I would just research and visit places you’re interested in and find the best fit for you. Who knows, maybe a DO program speaks to you more. Maybe not. But I think it’s better to know than to restrict yourself to just DO or MD come application time.