Hi Everyone,

Oops seems like my original post was in the wrong place. Let me try this again.

An oldie here 29 years old :slight_smile: I have been a lurker on and off for about 7 years. My intention was to go to medical School after I graduated college but a few detours, majority of it due to my then fear of the process. I currently hold a BA in Psychology graduated with a 3.9 GPA. I have not taken a science course in about 8 years and plan to begin all the pre-reqs this year. I am considering two options 1 year do it yourself and a 2 year do it yourself. I will be attending school full- time and working part-time. All thoughts are welcome, I am open for feedback.

1Year

Summer 2011- Chemistry I &II

Fall –BIO, Physics, Ochem, Pre-Cal

Spring- BIOII, Physics II, O-chem II, MCAT Study

Summer -2012 MCAT

2Year

Fall- BIO, Chem, Pre-Cal

Spring- BIO II, Chem II, Cal

Fall- Physics I, OChem I, Microbiology

Spring-Physics II, OChem II, MCAT Prep

Summer- 2013 MCAT

Either plan is doable, but the 1 year is going to be rather grueling. Summer courses can be very difficult during a condensed summer term (especially with labs). I don’t know how much you are working, but it is going to be tough to work too much. I did a one year schedule, except with Ochem over the summer instead of gen chem. I will tell you that there were weeks that it was very, very difficult to stay caught up with three lab courses and pre-calculus. Do not underestimate the amount of time you will need to labs and homework in order to do well in all of those courses. I can almost guarantee you that with bio, physics and ochem you will have little time for MCAT prep.

I agree - I’d say with the 1 year plan it might not be possible to work part-time and still do well. Bear in mind that doing well in these classes is of the highest priority. If a 2 year plan makes it possible for you to do better, the time will be well worth it.