No recent volunteer work

Hello all!

I asked this in another thread, but I think it got buried. I was looking at the secondary apps to TUCOM. They asked about volunteer work that you had done in the 3 years previous to applying.

I have had many years of volunteer experience (and loved it). I became a mother 3 1/2 years ago and continued to work outside of the home, per diem at first and now 20 hours a week (my job currently provides all of our family health benefits). When I go back to school and continue to work and raise our daughter, I don’t see me having time to volunteer. By the way, I am a medical speech pathologist and work in a hospital, so I have clinical experience.

Does anyone have experience with this? It doesn’t seem correct to refer to the wealth of prior volunteer experience when they are asking specifically for the prior three years (or is it?). I want to spend as much time with my daughter while doing the post bac work. What have others done? Or suggest?

Thank you!

Hm. The previous three years part is interesting. I don’t recall any of the schools I applied to putting a timeline on volunteering. I didn’t do hardly any volunteering while taking my pre-reqs, due to a heavy course load and working. I had a long history of volunteering before that, though.

If you feel you need to put some volunteering in, think about quality more than quantity and also think about ways that you can add volunteering to things that you already do. i.e. - do you sew, knit or crochet to relax? Then maybe you could work with a charity group that donates handmade items in some capacity. If you don’t have time to make items, maybe you could organize a fundraiser to purchase materials for other crafters.

Hi:)

You definitely have a tough schedule. I think I would try to at least fit in something (even if for only a few hours a month) just so that you don’t have to leave that space blank.