Non-Trad international student trying to get the pre-reqs in for medical school

Hello,

TLDR: I am looking to take pre-req courses as a non trad international student. Looking for recommendations on doing a core postbacc program/DIY postbacc or pursuing a second bachelors degree.

I am an international student and I recently completed my master’s in biomedical informatics from USA with 3.85 GPA and I am currently working in the United States on OPT (student visa). I completed my undergraduate degree in computer science outside the United States.

I have considerable research experience with one publication on its way and currently I work for a radiology informatics research organization. I have studied public health courses during my masters, and I have few physician shadowing hours under my belt. I am trying to get involved in clinical volunteering at hospitals nearby. The e-shadowing sessions through this website have been immensely helpful. I have started preparing for MCAT and aspire to apply next year or the year after to medical schools.

Since I am a career changer, I am planning to do a Postbacc premed program this summer / fall. However, some resources suggest that getting a second bachelors is an alternative and better route to getting in the pre-reqs for non-trad international students. I would love to know if there are any other premeds in a similar situation and how they made it through. Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

1 Like