Non-Traditional Seeking Advice

Hello,

Just to introduce myself, I’m currently 27 years old. I have an undergraduate degree in Economics and an MBA. I had a 3.5 undergrad GPA and a 3.6 GPA in MBA school. I worked in sales/trading prior to MBA school and have returned to the same industry albeit in a different role. I flirted with a career in medicine as an undergrad and thus took all my pre-med recs. I earned As and Bs in all pre-recs except for organic chem II (C-). Over the past year I have realized that a career in medicine is what i am in fact looking to do. I have signed up for a MCAT test prep class. Do i need to think about a post-bacc program given my long layoff from science and lack of recs i will have from professors? what is the best path for someone in my situation to take to give myself the highest probability for accceptance into medical school? any advice is helpful.

Welcome to OPM .

It sounds like your pre-req coursework was motstly from 8 years ago or so? Many med schools do have a cutoff, though each varies on how firmly the limit is applied. You’ll want to ask around to schools you’re interested in, to see whether they accept courses from more than X years ago.

Either way, it may pay to get back into some upper level coursework. Solid grades in recent high-level courses (e.g. interesting biology stuff) will demonstrate your ability and recent interest, and it should also get you back into a science mindset. I’m not sure whether you’ll need to retake stuff like physics or chemistry.

Reviewing for the MCAT seems wise. Be sure you don’t take it until you are 100% good and ready.

As far as post-bacc programs go, you have different options. I’m an advocate of informal programs, which is what I did. I applied to the local university, signed on as a molec and microbio major, and am taking the courses I need. I’ve been up-front with the department about not intending to complete the major, and they’re fine with that.