Non-Trad's Game Plan for 2018 Application Cycle

Hello,

My name is Parth; I am 23 years old and I currently work for an energy startup where my responsibilities span across various functions at the company (i.e. business development, finance, M&A, etc). I graduated last summer with a B.Sc. in Finance and Accounting, and earned a 3.6 cumulative GPA.

Currently, I am studying for the MCAT, working full time, and attending school to finish the required premed classes by early 2018. I’d finished some premed courses during my freshmen year in college when I was an undecided major (3.0 GPA after freshmen year). But then I decided to major in Finance because I was interested in Business/Finance at that point. I brought my GPA up to 3.6 (while interning every single semester of college starting sophomore year) by the time I graduated. Eventually, after interning at various places, I ended up working for an Energy startup on a full time basis. When I joined, I was the 7th employee (company worth $0), and now has around 250 employees (worth $2 Billion).

[highlight=yellow:3h4m61lc]Here are some of my questions to help me prepare for the 2018 application cycle:[/highlight:3h4m61lc]

1. Is my 3.6 GPA good enough to apply to MD schools? n.b. I was interning every single semester at various different places during school, and this is what hindered me from achieving an even higher GPA. Would Med schools understand this?
  2. How can I leverage my full-time experience working at a startup, and being in business field into my application process? What exactly do med schools like about non-trads? Specifically, someone coming from a completely unrelated field like business. Granted I have the business/finance knowledge required to understand the healthcare space.
  3. And lastly, does my 3.0GPA in freshmen year hurt my chances significantly (this is where I had taken some premed classes)? I am working my hardest to score well in the classes that I am taking/will be taking this year.