Noob Here - Just Saying "HI"

Hello All!

Just quickly introducing myself here. I am a 31 year old (which doesn’t feel at all old to me, but apparently it definitely makes me an “old (possible) pre-med”… I am just at the very beginning of starting down this path and at this point I’m not even 100% certain that my path will ultimately lead to medical school.

A little about my background… I am a librarian (hence the name) with a master’s degree in library science, my bachelor’s degree was in theatre with a minor in music. I am coming back to hard science to scratch an itch and possibly reverse a regret I have had simmering in my head for almost a decade now. (“Psychological dermatitis” as I described it to a friend the other day)… See from fourth grade through junior year of high school my plan had been to pursue medical school in hopes of becoming a neurologist. I had even visited some colleges to check out their biochem programs before changing my mind at the last minute. It was a decision I regretted as soon as I took my gen ed bio class in undergrad but at the time felt I had invested too much time and energy (not to mention having performance scholarships riding on) in my performing art courses to switch tracks at that point. So I finished my theatre degree knowing that I would likely pursue a masters degree. I was accepted into MBA and MFA programs before ultimately deciding on an MLIS. I LOVE my job as a children’s librarian, but my favorite parts of my job are encouraging the cognitive development of the 0-5 year olds that come to storytime (and researching how their brains are developing in order to apply that knowledge to improved programming) and leading the after-school STEM program for the elementary students.