NP to MD

Hi everyone! I am new to this site and I have been viewing for a couple weeks and decided to finally post something. I realize that this has been a discussion in the past but I haven’t seen anything recently. So… my question for the group is (especially any NPs transitioning to MDs) should I take my pre-med pre-reqs again? I graduated with a BS in Biology (2.8GPA) in 1999 and have fair grades in these classes. I went back to school and got my BSN (3.8GPA) (2003) and MSN-FNP(3.5GPA) (2010). After working as a NP for a couple of years I long for greater depth in knowledge and more flexible career opportunities. I have been studying for the MCAT for the past 2 weeks and plan on taking to in the spring of 2013. I am currently reviewing Physics and feel add if the Kaplan and Princeton review are very helpful. I am a little worried about the chemistry especially orgo section. I was hoping to just review on my own and then take a Kaplan review course in the winter. If I score well on my MCAT then I would wait a year and apply for the Fall of 2015, so as to give myself time to apply and get my score back. Anyways… as I was asking do you guys think it will be necessary to retake my science classes as they are pretty old? In the year I am applying I would robaly want to take A&P again at a local college. Thanks for listening to my long post and I look forward to hearing your response and getting to chat with you all!

It depends on where you intend to go to school - some have firm requirements that your prereqs be taken within 10 years (varies w/ school), while others will accept older coursework as long as you have a strong MCAT and newer coursework in upper level courses to show you can still handle the academic rigor.