nurse midwife who wants more

I am so glad I have found this site. I have made mention of this dream to several people and collegues but everyone seems to think I am crazy.

I am soon to be 39 and I know i am going to go to medical school. I don’t know how I don’t know when and I have no idea how i will ever do it but i know i will.

This is not a new idea but a very old one. I can remember being pregnant with my second child st just starting my first college classes, I was 21 years old and I knew I would someday be a doctor.

Let me give some history. I joined the Navy when I was 17 and was an electrician. Unplanned pregnancy, got married, decided to have children close together, had my second child at 21. We got out of the navy and I relized I needed a college education. The only higher education was a community college. I started and chose to major in nursing.

I graduated with an associate in Nursing in 1997. Decided I wanted a male child so with two girls at 9 and 7 we started again with newborn. By the time he was 5 yrs old I had worked asa a labor and delivery nurse for 5 years and felt unchallenged.

I had conterplated medical school then but was unable to figure out all the obsticles i would run into. The major one is that there is no medical school within a 100 miles. So instead I chose to a masters in nursing. I commuted to the University of Miami ( 168.5 miles) and majored in nurse midwifery.

I love being a midwife. I love the impact I have in women’s life. I love catching babies. But I love surgery and unfortunately I will never be able to do surgery as a CNM.

I hate being a “midlevel” provider. I hate being a “physician extender” I hate having to pass off patients because i don’t have the education to manage them.

I manage low risk, “problem” free patients but I that is not what I want to do for the next 20-25 years. I want to have complicated patients where I can maage them. If my labor patient needs a cesearean I want to do it.