NYer with a serious attack of FUD

So caveat I have lived in NYC for 8 years, I’m not sure if that qualifies me as a NYer but what the heck.

I have decided to start writing here because, frankly this is the only place where I keep reading people telling others to “go for it”.

I went to an ivy league university where I studied the archaeology of human bones. My GPA was 3.45… I ended up working a series of odd jobs, (including working as a standardized patient for medical students) until I ended up as a clinical research coordinator at an orthopedic hospital. I like bones, so it made sense. (Also, I needed a job). Anyways, I got to give patients exams, shadow doctors, observe surgeries. It was wonderful. Working at the hospital solidified my nebulous desire to become a doctor. I got to see diseases in live patients that I had previously observed in their bones. I was so excited about becoming a doctor.

Now I am in a postbac program and I am struggling. I keep questioning if I should be doing this. All this pressure to get straight As. I worry that because I am getting As and Bs I won’t get in anywhere and all this effort will have been for nothing. All this time studying… I keep trying to convince myself that I should do something else, but I don’t know what else I would want to do. I now have a research desk job where I review charts all day and never see patients. I keep trying to remind myself why I wanted to do this in the first place but it is becoming harder and harder. Does anyone have advice to help get me out of this slump?

Oh, and whenever I think of what kind of doctor I would want to be I am interested in orthopedic surgery. Often when I talk to surgeons they tell me that I will be too old and that I should be a PA if I want to have children… all in all its very discouraging

Alina said: