Ok...I just have to ask...how bad is it?

Hi everyone! I am a old premed student on the verge of applying this coming June. I’ve worked extremely hard to get things ready for my application. My MCAT scores are reasonably good and I’m completing a Masters degree in Molecular and Microbio. This semester has been extremely challenging. In addition to taking four classes, I work full time, teach at a university part time, and have five children, ranging from ages 9-22. So, basically, I haven’t been able to spend much time with my family this semester. It’s really hard because I feel like their needs are not being met adequately.

My husband and I have had discussions and disagreements about what med school life will be like. He says that it will be just as time consuming and hectic as my life is now. I disagree. So, I turn to you, the experts. I don’t have any fantasies that med school will be a walk in the park. I know hard work is involved but, I would like to know how hard is it? How many hours do you spend each day in class? How many hours do you spend each day studying? Is it possible to balance your academic demands and family demands? Any comments on this matter would be appreciated.

Thanks!

linda, check out my post from last year when I was a first year.(copied below)Good Luck! Cheers.

Celtic

After doing some Q and A with some “1st years to be” the other day I thought I’d give a brief impression of my 1st year of medical school from the eyes of a non-trad. I hope that my non-trad colleagues can chime in as well on their thoughts.

“How much do you study?”