Old Pre-reqs, good MCAT?

I am a FNP wanting to apply to med school in 2012.

I graduated in 2003 with BS Biology/Pre-med. (2005 BSN, 2007 MS-FNP) I just re-took Physics 1 and 2 online at UNM since I had taken them in Germany originally (i did foreign exchange) and they must have been taken in US.

Since my Pre-req’s are ~10 years old I am just wondering if self-study and possibly taking a review course will be enough to get a 30+ MCAT score.

Has anybody else done this? Re-taught themselves Chem and OChem? I was always pretty comfortable with Biology, A&P, Genetics and with the recent Physics, my main concern is re-teaching myself Chemistries.

I would like to take the MCAT sometime Jan-May 2012 and I have flexibility in my schedule to work only 2-3 days/week and have 4-5 days/week to study. I can also take a review course, I think which would be more beneficial once I have studied on my own.

Has anyone else successfully done this without having to re-take the Chemistry courses?

I really would not want to postpone another year just to retake the courses. Also it is difficult to find a college where you can take the courses and coordinate work. Also I really don’t think I would do well taking Chem/OChem online.

• nurseneely Said:
Since my Pre-req's are ~10 years old I am just wondering if self-study and possibly taking a review course will be enough to get a 30+ MCAT score.

Has anybody else done this? Re-taught themselves Chem and OChem?...Has anyone else successfully done this without having to re-take the Chemistry courses?

Yes to all of the above. I did exactly what you describe.