old pre-requisite

Hi I applied DO school last year but dropped the application at the end because of a poor August MCAT score. I was so frustruated with my result that I took some time to go overseas traveling… But now I looked at the consequences, learned from them, and decided to use those lessons to make better decisions in the future. Rather than focusing on the pain of the MCAT experience, I have decided to continue to focus on my goal. I’m planning to retake the MCAT next April. (second time) However some of my pre-requisites are approx. 8-9 years old, though I’ve been out of school for only 2 years. I graduated from grad school 2 years ago but mostly I took graduate level biomedical science courses. Still, I’m slightly concerned about my old undergraduate pre-requisite. Do you think it’s better to take these classes again while preparing for the April MCAT 06? or just prepare for the MCAT while working as a EMT or science teacher? I’ve been teaching /tutoring AP biology chemistry physics since graduate school so I don’t think it necessary to refresh my memory by taking actual classes.
I just didn’t think that it’s really important to show the most recent courework (within a year) to ADCOM…
Any opinions?? I would appreciate!!

If you can get a copy of the MSAR or just surf through the web sites of the schools that you are interested in, you should be able to find out the “expiration window” that each school allows for premed coursework. This, more than anything will guide you as to whether you should retake them. It might also be helpful to meet with an admissions rep for your state school and see what they say about your situation. I know you said that you didn’t feel you needed the coursework, but perhaps it is worth taking a few of the courses to help your MCAT score. It might be worthwhile to wait a year before retaking the MCAT so that you could take the courses and brush up on your weaker areas.