Online DIY Postbac

Hi Everyone,

I recently discovered the OldPreMeds podcast and have been going through the episodes very quickly (I’ve probably listened to 100 this week). The information is great. I graduated from college in 2017 with a major in Exercise Science with no intention of going into medicine. My GPA was low for medical schools as I graduated with a 3.2. I took a full-time job analyzing heart monitors at a local hospital and quickly decided that medicine was something I wanted to pursue. I started taking prereqs at night at the local community college, but stopped after a couple classes because I heard that it may not be good to take the prereqs there. Since then I have switched to taking classes online through two different 4 year universities that are both accredited. I’m planning on applying in the 2020-2021 cycle and as that date approaches I’m questioning if I made a wrong decision. I’ve emailed at least 20 MD schools that have confirmation that they will accept online credits. I’ve emailed a few DO schools that will as well, and I plan on emailing more. I’ve gotten mostly A’s and a couple A-'s in every class I have taken during my DIY postbac (about 6 classes taken with 2 more to go). Was my method of taking classes a bad decision and should I be worried about my chances of getting accepted?

Any feedback is appreciated,

Paul

Hello, Paul! Isn’t the podcast great? I similarly worked my way through episodes once I found the show.