overwhelmed? ME?

Hello all,

I’m new to this great site and farily new to being back in school. I’m 41 with four children, a husband, a job and community obligations – just like everyone else here. At this point, I am so excited to be back in school and working toward my dream that I have no lack of confidence and motivation. Actually I am an optimist to the point of insanity; I make Pollyanna look depressed , that’s how bad I am. BUT… I know the day WILL come when I am tired and overwhelmed and discouraged, etc. And it will probably come sooner than I think. I would like to have some good strategies on hand. What do you all do when you’re feeling overwhelmed or discouraged and the usual platitudes just aren’t working anymore? I’d sure appreciate your words of wisdom!

First, welcome to our group.

As to Pollyanna, my husband will tell you that I am she . . . most of the time. But, like you said, the day does come occasionally that you are tired and overwhelmed, and when that occurs, I simply say Pollyanna is on vacation.

What do I do? Keep putting one foot in front of the other and seek out the support of my husband and friends. And, I think you will find that OPM is one of the best friends you can have in difficult times. They are always here to support and encourage you when you need it, and they (we) love to be here in both bad times as well as good. After all, that’s what friends are for.

So welcome!

I think back to volunteering moments with patients in the hospital or clinic and that renews my motivation. You’re really wise to be anticipating such moods, which come upon all of us at times I suppose. That’s nontrads for you, always thinking!