Parenting and EC's

Please remember it is my first time on here and I registered 10 min. ago to ask my questions and interact:)

Can being a parent count as an EC? I have 2 daughters who are involved in several activities besides school (2nd and 3rd grade). I provide them with support since I am a single mother & their father lives in a different state, he only sees them on long breaks and part of summer. Their activities limit my time to do other things. I am registered in 24 units (Physics I, Calc II, Ochem II, CSIT 102, International Bus. and Bio II)

The non-science courses are to finish my degree. I also participate in several Veteran related activities ( I am an Army 11-yr-veteran), play soccer, work-out on my own, and go to church. My hours are literally booked. I am currently, taking a small break and finally decided to register here:)

Please share your thoughts.

First off, you are a machine!

My kid wasn’t born until after I submitted my apps, so I can’t speak from total first-hand experience. I did include the fact we were expecting in my PS.

In my opinion, the challenge of parenting is a great piece to the PS, if you want to talk about it and how it shaped you. I think that some of the activities you do with your kids could be good to include in the EC section, if they have motivated you to become a physician or have prepared you better for the career change. I would try to first load the section with activities that you aren’t “obligated” to do by being a parent.

Any app screener worth his pay check should understand that being a single parent can drastically limit all the extra stuff you do that is “expected” (?) of the single college kid applying to school. My EC section was more than 50% military work stuff, and most of the rest of it wasn’t the traditional box-check type stuff. Only one of my interviewers questioned my EC history; the rest realized I was limited due to my work/family responsibilities. It’s all in how you sell yourself.