People think I'm nuts....

…and maybe I am.

I’m 44. I have been a software engineer for the last 15 years. I have a BS in Civil Engineering, that I also got late in life, as I just wasn’t ready for college till my mid-20s. Now…I want to be a doctor.

I may have it easier than some. I never married, no kids. I managed for years to not get myself in a pile of debt, living simple, and now looking at my options.

It seems like my engineering degree takes care of a lot of pre-reqs, though I read here that they may have been too long ago. I guess it depends on the school. I know that I still need biology and organic chemistry, so it’s going to be a while before I can apply.

I know there are some linked undergrad programs that are tied to medical schools? I’ve had trouble finding much about them. I was just planning on taking classes at the local CC in order get the classes under my belt. Trying to read what I can about what I need to apply. I’d be very grateful for any other sites to read (this one is great though), or books you’d recommend on getting ready to apply for a school. I’d definitely like to know more about non-traditional programs if you think they would help my situation.

The whole thing is daunting of course. Just the thought of completing the prerequisits, doing medical school, residency (I was thinking of being an anesthesiologist), and not getting out till I’m over 50 seems completely nuts at times, and the most exciting thing I could ever do the next.

So. Are they right? Am I nuts? I’ve been called it more than a few times over my life…

Jim,

I am in a similar situation… I am married with 2 young kids and a third due in February.

I have a career and my wife stays at home with the kids.

YES YOU ARE NUTS. But, you are not alone. Since you live simply and within your means, I would assume that your goal is a more fullfilling career, a more challenging career, or a combination of the two.