Personal Statement and discouraged

I had a conversation with a premed advisor this morning and I am very discouraged. She told me that it is becoming increasingly difficult for people with PhDs to gain entry to med school. She said the standards are tougher, they expect to see no B’s in grad school and higher MCAT scores.

I was waiting to submit my app tomorrow after seeing my scores, but now I am second guessing everything. I was wondering if someone could look over my personal statement and provide some feedback.

I suppose I should add some more info. I am really in a panic mode right now and not thinking clearly. I don’t know if I am really too late in this application cycle and maybe I should hold off another year. I graduated with my PhD in biomedical sciences in Dec 2011. I currently work part time so I would have time to study for MCATs and apply.

I have an undergrad cGPA of 3.36 and was discouraged of applying to med school from undergrad because I had a C in intro Chem.

I am late getting my committee letter from my undergrad institution, and clearly late with my apps. There’s a lot of holes to jump through and the process is difficult to navigate without any advisors.

• megscu24 Said:
There's a lot of holes to jump through and the process is difficult to navigate without any advisors.

That's why only the most motivated will succeed. I also have a PhD, with a less than stellar graduate GPA (MBA).

If you don't try, then no school can say yes. For what it's worth I hear you discouragement. I just submitted my AMCAS today after starting it on May 1st. So the process is a roller-coaster, no doubt about it.

Good luck, hang in there. Don't let anyone turn you away from your dream. If you want it hard enough, it will happen. Not saying it will be easy, but it will happen.

It’s still July, not August. Which means you’re not late, yet.