Personal statement question

As I contemplate what I want to write on my personal statement, I have come up with a situation that helped motivate me toward going back to school. I wonder, however, if it is appropriate to include in my statement.
(Yes, I know, I should have the personal statement done already. After discussion with a couple of admissions people, I have decided to go ahead and apply for this year and hope for the best. If I don’t get accepted, I will not be horribly disappointed, and will try again next year.)
Anyways - back to the statement. While working as an EMT, I had two experiences that really made me think about becoming an ER doctor. In both cases, my partner and I picked up a patient from a local nursing home who was in severe CHF, probably had been for quite awhile, and the nursing home didn’t recognize it early enough. Both patients were, as we say, “circling the drain”, had DNR orders, and probably weren’t going to have a good outcome due to the length of time they had been in failure prior to going to the ER.
In the one situation, the ER doc (who would openly admit that he hated his job), basically said “she’s a DNR, I’m not touching her” and let the patient lay there and die. (He in fact, did NOT do anything for her). Pretty much, he let her drown and did nothing to help ease her suffering
In the other situation, the ER doc (who I always found to be wonderfully compassionate), looked at the patient and said “she’s probably not going to make it, but I will do everything I can to make her as comfortable as I can.” She stayed with the patient, helping the nurses get the IV’s, cath, and etc., and ordering meds to make the patient more comfortable.