Ph.D. thinking about medical school

I am a 36 year old Ph.D. in molecular biology who is considering medical school. I enjoy research but have always had a desire to practice medicine. Any other Ph.D.'s with a similar experience/advice? All comments welcome.

Hi,

I’m a “little” older (45) and have a PhD in a completely different field (anthropology). I’m just completing my post-bac courses and plan on applying to med school this year. I’ve found the journey so far exhilarating and have even loved organic chem. As a social scientist I didn’t think that was possible. But you’d be surprised at how one’s perspective and focus changes with age. With your background I’m imagining that you will have a leg up in your prep work to apply. I wish you luck!

Yeah! Forty-somethings going to med school - gotta love it! (I’m 44, will be 46 when I apply - hopefully only once - and 47 when I start!)

Read Linda’s journey - I think she was our age too and is a short time away from getting her match info, if I’m not mistaken.

Hi Doc2be,

Glad to meet you. Sounds like we are on a similar journey–I will also be 47 when I start. I could apply through a linkage program to go to our local med school starting classes this summer. It is very tempting. But it would require my studying for and taking the MCATs this spring. And as much as I hate to wait one more year to go to school, the time difference will make a huge impact on my family–we will all be in a better place for me to go to med school in 2010 rather than in 2009. I’ll look out for your posts and hope you have continued success.

I was in the same proverbial boat: BS/MS/PhD (Electrical Engineering), MBA, and a (very) nice position as a corporate officer. I started my prereqs at 48, and am now starting first semester, at age 50. With kids in college and family life patterns well-established, this is a GREAT time to go back to school, going to do what I really think I was meant to do.