planning a wedding.. and med school??!!

Hi everybody! I am so excited to have found this website as a resource.

I am a 24 year old graduate student right now at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign. I’m getting my Masters in Early Childhood Special Education w/ an emphasis in infants and toddlers with disabilities. I went to the University of Kansas and got a BA in Psychology and a BA in Applied Behavior Science w/ an emphasis in early childhood education and intervention.

My cumulative GPA for undergrad was 3.14. My psych GPA was 3.0 and my behavior science GPA was, if I remember correctly, 3.68. I didn’t have a stellar undergrad GPA, but it did show a significant upward trend.

At U of I, I have a 3.9 cumulative. My anticipated graduation date is May 2010. If any of you could answer a few questions for me I’d greatly appreciate it.

1.) Some of the post-bacc programs require pre-reqs for the med school pre-reqs. Not quite sure how they get away with this. Frustrating because I have tons of classroom experience in various areas, but for example, Northwestern requires biology before even applying to the program. Can I apply to these schools as a non-traditional non-degree seeking student and just take the pre-med sequencing of classes or in your opinion(s), does it “look better” to be part of a post-bacc program? What are the benefits/cons of doing it either way?

2.) How easy is it to find scholarships for non-trads or post-bacc students?