Poor post-bacc science GPA.

This is my first post here to OPM, although I’ve been lurking for a while, and I’ve been posting on SDN, albeit infrequently, for 4 years. But given that I’m older pre-med (46, going on 47), perhaps OPM is a more appropriate place for my inquiries.

I have a 3.4 undergrad GPA from a high-powered west coast university, but I was not premed at the time. After years of working and volunteering in free health care I decided a few years ago to get that medical degree so I can start practicing in the free clinics that I’ve been running all these years.

I went back to a state college to get my prereqs for medical school, but things have been an utter failure. My post-bacc GPA is barely above a 3.0, and I have at least 4 C’s on my record (I haven’t got my last semesters grades back), as well as 3 W’s.

While I have always excelled at courses that require rhetoric, expository writing, and critical thinking, I do not seem to do well at science courses. I’ve had my share of A’s, but mostly B’s and those C’s. And I’ve retaken several courses. None of the C’s are in any direct pre-requisite to medical school; they are in some upper division courses. But I do have plenty of B’s in pre-requisites.

I was recently “diagnosed” with a learning disorder which affects the way I interpret symbols and the rate at which I read. I have always been a slow reader, so I rarely finish tests and exams, so I get lower scores, and hence all those B’s and C’s. Also, I usually need to read sentences over and over again to understand what I’ve read. On the other hand, I can write and edit prose very eloquently with little problem.