post-bac now? later? need some urgent advice

Whew. Ok, here goes.

I’m in a predicament deciding exactly when to get my post-bac work completed. I have felt since I was very young that medicine would be what I eventually go into, but I let pre-med go in college to focus on what I love to study - humanities and theatre. I told myself I could always go back to medicine after college.

Now, here we are. I graduated from Yale in May 2008, and took the year off to do some theatre/work in Austin, but the year wasn’t fulfilling and left me missing something; there wasn’t much theatre here to begin with, so I floated between a few jobs, got calculus done at UT in the spring, etc.

I am back in Austin this fall, strongly considering just getting all of the post-bac work out of the way now in case I return to medicine in a few years. I am enrolled as a student now, but haven’t formally registered. My other option now is to take that year or so that I really wanted, move to San Fran, Chicago, etc, and do theatre for awhile! Perhaps even a year or two graduate school program.

Would it be better for me to get the post-bac requirements out of the way this year (I can do it in a year with the work I’ve previously done), or to wait until I’ve done other things? I’m very nervous about waiting because that would entail two years before I even enter med school - a year of post-bac, and a year of interviewing/applying - and I also am not sure what I’ll do with the year if I’m wide open to anything.

So - go with the rationality of getting it done now, or throw caution to the wind, do what I love for awhile (basically follow my intuition) and return to it later, even though it would add two more years?

Thanks to anyone who replies! I’ve been turning this decision over in my head for literally months, and have thought about it so much that new perspectives would be more than welcome.

Cheers!

Any advice? Anyone in a similar situation? Thank you so much!

Emerald,