Pre MD-PhD Research Value During Glide Year(s)

Help! I’m looking to see if anyone has any worldly advice or opinions on conducting research in the glide period before applying to MD-PhD programs.

Bit of history: I decided to complete a second bachelors instead of a post-bac program. I graduated in May (yea!) and am scheduled to take the MCAT’s in August. I’m currently participating in a summer clinical research internship for undergrads. My PI has offered me a position as a research assistant after the summer, but would like a 2 year commitment.

The Question: As a 38-yr old non-trad, do you think the research experience (and high probability of multiple publications) out weighs delaying the application process? Yes, I’ve already waited this long, so another year delay may not matter, and at the same time, MD-PhD programs are so long, getting started sooner and focusing my time on post-docs instead of pre-docs may be the better route. (Side note- it’s an international lab, so there is a bit of a language and cultural barrier, but they’re warming up to me and starting help me more each day, but will still require independent learning on many techniques).

I could also then not take the MCAT’s in Aug, spend more time preparing, and take it in one of the spring slots, thus an early applicant, instead of a late applicant.

I’m overwhelmed with the decision and would love to hear what others think.

• crazyfun Said:
Help! I'm looking to see if anyone has any worldly advice or opinions on conducting research in the glide period before applying to MD-PhD programs.

Bit of history: I decided to complete a second bachelors instead of a post-bac program. I graduated in May (yea!) and am scheduled to take the MCAT's in August. I'm currently participating in a summer clinical research internship for undergrads. My PI has offered me a position as a research assistant after the summer, but would like a 2 year commitment.