Pre-Med at 38?

Hi Ya’ll!

I had poked around this site today, since I’ve been thinking about med school. My case is like others, who have thought about it earlier but never went.

My background is not in science, but I finished in International Relations though I have been in international business since my 20’s.

My work took me overseas and I married a non-American and we’re living in Ukraine. There’s a medical program in English at the Lviv Medical University and have heard of (and seen) graduates from this school take up practice back in the US.

My question is, how difficult is to take the board and get residency in the US after graduating a foreign university?

Much feedback is appreciated!

Disclaimer: I am neither a doctor nor a medical student. I am responding only because no one else has (yet).

From what I have read here and elsewhere, the answer to your question is: Very, very difficult, but not impossible. If working as a physician in the US is your goal, you would probably be much better off moving back to the US and attending a domestic medical school, where your odds of getting a residency are much higher than for foreign-school applicants. If that simply is not possible, and you’re still determined to try to get a US residency after attending a Ukrainian medical school, then good luck. Maybe someone else can give you some tips to try to raise your chances.

ValueMD.com can better answer your questions:

http://www.valuemd.com/main-european-medical -schoo…

Thanks everyone who chipped in. [sigh] Still trying to decide. I appreciate your input. If anyone else has any other advice, please let me know!

My best to all of you!