Pre-req grades out on the table....advice please

Hi all,

Getting right down to business. Here are my science grades from undergrad. All were taken between 2001 and 2003. Back then the social life was number one priority. My how time changes things/me. Ready to start this process for real this time.

Looking for the following advice/opinions/insight: Which, if any, of these can I go without retaking? What other courses would you recommend (besides the required 8) to help prepare me?

Bio I - B (Lec) B+ (Lab)

Bio II - C (Lec) B (Lab)

Chem I - C+ (Lec) B+ (Lab)

Physics I - C

Physics II - C-

Thanks!

I am certainly not an expert but given the grades and the fact that these are already 7 to 10 years old (and only getting older), I would say it is in your best interest to retake those. Especially if you go DO (since they replace your grades).

But again, I am no expert.

You are going to med school, I am assuming that an A in Bio is a must. As for Physics, I don’t know how important it is.

Aside from this, another good reason to redo those is for the MCAT. I know students who maintain a 4.0 through their science pre-reqs and still screw up the MCAT… Acing the MCAT is not only about the knowledge, but the ability to comprehend a problem, apply your knowledge under pressure (time). So I think that the knowledge should be mastered to the best extent possible. Retaking the pre-reqs will help with this aspect.

In any event good luck.

Retake them all. Good grades on the second try will go a long way in proving your committment. Aside from that, you need the most current information to prepare for the MCAT and beyond. Even at the basic science level, a lot has changed in 8 years.