Premed Patient Exposure

Hello everyone! I am in the process of taking my premed classes so that I can apply to med school summer of 2013. I have a BA in Music and a Master’s degree in Music. I still currently work in the music field and actually teach college at the same school I am finishing my premed requirements. I have a wife and two kids. Life is very busy for me as it is for all of you.

My question: I have no problem doing volunteer work, shadowing doctors, and have plenty of leadership opportunities. I am having a very hard time finding opportunities for patient exposure. I am too busy and feel too old to become a medical assistant, CNA, or phlebotomist JUST so I can list that I have ‘Patient Exposure.’ Any advice? Any other opportunities that I am missing that are straight forward?

Thanks in advance! I was glad to find this forum:)

Jesse

Welcome,

Your patient exposure comes from good shadowing. You need to do some research and find a physician that will allow you to shadow him/him while he/she sees patients in a clinic/hospital or operating room!

Good Luck!

I got a job at one of the Austin Hospitals as a patient sitter( official title-patient safety assistant). I worked for the staffing agency that was part of the hospital network . I was rotated to different floors and different hospitals within the network which allowed me to see various units. I would also be spending from 8 to 12 hours with the same patient. The staffing agency had a minimum requirement of 2 weekends per month. The rest of the week it was up to me if I wanted to work. I am not sure if “patient sitter” is a common position in your local hospital but I would still check in your area if it is something you are interested in.

Gala

Perhaps you can work as a tech in the ED or get your EMT basic. The tech job in an ED will give you exposure to pt’s, especially because some tech’s do the vitals at triage, EKG’s and take down their history.