Pursue master's before med school?

Hi all. I’m new to the forum and learning a lot.

I am a Junior, working on a BS in microbiology. I’m 33 and my background is high school dropout and 15 years of IT work, five of those in management. I spent three years in community college to get to this point (I had to take a remedial year getting my math up to speed), but I am holding a 3.78GPA and loving every moment of school.

My advisor has suggested that I might have a stronger case for medical school if I complete a MS in microbiology, particularly since my community college experience may be judged unfavorably. While I really enjoy microbiology, I am fixed on the goal of medical school and don’t want to put it off unless there is a significant advantage.

So, any experiences to share? I suppose I could simply apply for both medical school and graduate micro and see which comes through, but is there any risk applying for different programs at the same school?

Hey, the past Surgeon General of the United States Richard Carmona was a high school drop-out and had only attended a community college before he entered UC San Francisco’s medical school.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Carmona

Welcome to OPM, Bill. Glad to see you here and hear that you’re looking around - there’s a lot of great information on the boards.

Does your CC offer Bachelor’s degrees, or are you now attending a University? Assuming the latter, where will your science courses be coming from?

I transferred to university this year. I took all the basic science and math through calc in CC - inorganic and organic chem, bio, physics, psych, geology, astronomy, etc.

However, since I am pursuing a BS in micro, I will be taking about 70 additional credits of science this year and next at the university level, including undergrad research next year if all goes as planned.