Questions from El New Guy

Hi. Long-time reader, first-time poster.
I’m trying to figure out how to approach the med school preparation and application process. I graduated in 1997 with a degree in biochemistry and quickly moved to Japan to teach English (Isn’t that what everybody does with their biochem degree?). I never gave any thought to practicing medicine until a year and a half ago. Now it has become “what I want to do with my life.”
Looking at my undergrad years, my GPA was just over 3.0, but my upper division sciences were rather weak due to a loss of motivation late in the game. There are several other weak spots. My clinical experience is nil and I have no letters of rec lined up.
On the plus side, I am quite good at learning new material and applying it. I also have several years of community service (as a camp counselor for underprivileged children and in a service club), though that was mostly in college.
Knowing all that, has anybody any suggestions on how (or IF) I should proceed? What classes should I look for in a postbacc? What other steps would you recommend? What can I do now to prepare for postbacc/medical school? Would it be worth it to get a full second bachelors? Would a masters be a better idea?
Other potentially relevant information: I am 30 years old and have no family of my own nor do I have any debt. I have pretty much complete flexibility, locationwise. I am not sure what sort of medicine I want to practice.
Thank you in advance,
Jason

What do you still need to complete the required pre-medical courses (physics, chemistry, biology and biochemistry)?
I don’t think a 2nd bachelor’s or a master’s degree is necessary. If you just are looking to raise your GPA, then just enroll as a non-degree seeking student at any inexpensive public university and take some upper level science courses. Graduate courses will not affect the undergraduate GPA that a lot of the admissions committees might use to screen your application.

Jason,