Really pushing the age limit

Hi. Have browsed topics a lot and enjoy the forum.

I have a Finance degree plus about 30 hours of advanced math with a 3.80 GPA. I’ve worked as a financial analyst for many years and have spent the last 17 years raising two kids with my wife. I am 45 now, have never been healthier, and I live exactly 1 mile from the University of Iowa College of Medicine.

I am very interested in pursuing a surgical career late in life, either by way of med school or PA school. I think I could get the prereqs completed and a good MCAT score posted by age 50 going to school part time - possibly with a final fulltime year of premed work. I have been working through a chemistry text and enjoy it.

Starting med school at 50 with a 5 year surgical residency?? This leaves me a 16 year career if I work until 75 (I hope to never retire no matter what I’m doing, even if still in finance).

Or would you call it a 21 year career including residency? Do residents “add value” or is really just on the job training?

I guess I could justify a 16 year career on the basis that a 30 year old could work 16 years as a surgeon and just quit - being financially independent. Nothing to stop them.

Does anyone think I’m just too old? I understand thre are other issues such as my motivation, ability, etc. I think I can satisfy those concerns but am worried now about the questions admissions is going to have about training someone for a shorter career.

I certainly appreciate any input. Many, many thanks.

I was 51 when I completed my family medicine residency this past June. I’m not in great shape, I’m not in great health, but I still managed to do it. I have to be honest that I don’t think I could physically tolerate a 5-year surgery residency, but I honestly don’t know if that’s my age speaking or my sort of ambivalent attitude toward surgery.