Reformed Lurker

Okay, okay, okay. I’ll go ahead and introduce myself to this fine community that I’ve been a spectator of for so long!

I graduated with a BA in Communications and a mediocre GPA in 2006. I’ve been working at a great job since then in a field completely unrelated to medicine. I started thinking about med school about two years ago and began taking the prereqs at night. I was almost skeptical of myself at first but soon became absorbed in learning again. I was more than proud of my first A in Physics 1.

Since then, I’ve held a steady 4.0 in all of my prereqs and am readying myself to apply for 2010 admission. I’m scheduled to take the MCAT in the fall and will be applying afterwards. I know, I know… with rolling admissions it is most prudent to apply as soon as the season opens up but I have been persuaded by a couple friends who have just graduated from my school of choice to just go for it. After meeting with a dean of this school (which was AWESOME and a great opportunity also set up by the MD friend) I have decided that it can’t hurt to apply. He said that even if I don’t make the cut this time around that it would serve me well in that I can ask them what red flags they saw on my application. Then, I can fix those red flags before the next go 'round. I am sure this advice applies to all schools - not just my number one choice.

He also is in the process of hooking me up with shadowing the morning rounds at my local hospital. I’ve been volunteering in the department since January and will now be shadowing in the same department.

So it’s nice to meet you all! The board has always been a glimmer of hope in my non-trad journey!

Hey Wiggy,

Nice to meet you… sounds like you are well on your way. Good-luck!