Registering for Spring Classes

So I need a little help in deciding a class. I’m almost at the end - I take Chem II during the spring and Organic 1 & 2 over the summer (supposedly more people make more A’s during the summer semester here) and I’m done in August!

For financial aid purposes I have to take one more class on top of chemistry 2 and my Physics 2 Lab (5 hrs so far, need 6)

What is better - Calculus I, Genetics, or (insert another class here) ? I’m afraid of genetics, I keep hearing it’s a gpa buster and my bpcm is quite good right now (3.92). I’m comfortable with my math skills so Calculus could be cool, but I’ve already taken a year of math + a statistics class. Maybe I should just take A&P or something else so I can have a medium difficulty semester (working 32 hrs / week + volunteering).

Any advice would help

Congratulations! It has to feel great to be in the home stretch of pre-reqs!

I’m just beginning the journey, but I’ve read tons of blogs/diaries, etc. around here–and quite a few people have said they are very, very glad to have taken Bio-Chem when they get to first year of Med school. The other front runner seems to be Anatomy of some type…

*Med School admissions counselors have also recommended Bio-Chem to me, so that’s definitely a contender.

Good luck!

Anatomy or microbiology will be the better choices if you’re looking for something that will not be a GPA-buster, but adcoms will want to see additional coursework. Agree that biochem is both helpful in the first semester of med school, and looks good on your application.

Biochemistry here is a 500 level course that you can’t take until you’ve completed both Organics. I have heard it will help out a lot with med school also - I could possibly take it during the lag year, or fall 2011. I will look into that :slight_smile: Thanks